Cut-Weld-Drive Forums

Go Back   Cut-Weld-Drive Forums > The VolksRodders Forum > The Tech Bin

The Tech Bin An ARCHIVE of helpful and informative tech posts...


User Information
Your Avatar

Stuff to check out...

Cool stuff you NEED!

Forum Stats
Members: 17,564
Threads: 32,396
Posts: 547,682
Total Online: 575

Newest Member: Tylerted

Latest Threads
- by DrHax
- by Bugula

 
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old March 8th, 2004, 06:32 AM   #1
black_rat_bug
Forum Member
 
black_rat_bug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Southern Indiana
Posts: 1,272
Default

I took a bus shifter out of a 70. I have a 70 bug. The bus shifter has a pin and the shift rod on the bus is notched for the pin. The shift rod on the bug is not notched, and the bus shifter will not work without the pin. Do I have to change the shift rod out to run the bus shifter? I checked the shifter on my sandrail and it is notched. I guess I could fab up the same kind of shifter rod as my rail. Any quick easy fixes? I LOVED the look of that shifterin there and I would like to have ti in there for a cruise for this weekend. Thanks for any insight.
__________________
Randy Greene
Southern Indiana

Member Since Day Two, 2002!
black_rat_bug is offline  
Old March 8th, 2004, 06:44 AM   #2
type3rod
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,317
Default

Theres a much,much simpler way to do it. Cut both shifters in half,then weld the top half of the bus shifter to the bottom half of the bug shifter,grind,paint,then enjoy!
__________________
Pistol Pete get well soon!!!!
type3rod is offline  
Old March 8th, 2004, 06:48 AM   #3
type3rod
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,317
Default

See were the circle is? It gets a bit smaller because the top half is bus and the bottom half is type 3.
__________________
Pistol Pete get well soon!!!!
type3rod is offline  
Old March 8th, 2004, 08:23 AM   #4
black_rat_bug
Forum Member
 
black_rat_bug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Southern Indiana
Posts: 1,272
Default

OK...Now I have to find where I put that old shifter. I have an Old Hurst Shifter in there now and I will not be cutting that up to mate the bus shifter with. Thanks.
__________________
Randy Greene
Southern Indiana

Member Since Day Two, 2002!
black_rat_bug is offline  
Old March 8th, 2004, 09:10 AM   #5
vwfanaticboy
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Carmel, IN
Posts: 195
Default

I know I've got a couple lying around if you can't find your old one.

Logan
__________________
Deep purple '69 chop top VW with 135hp 2007cc flat four.

http://web.ics.purdue.edu/~ldmiller/hvws5.jpg

http://web.ics.purdue.edu/~ldmiller/hvws6.jpg
vwfanaticboy is offline  
Old March 8th, 2004, 09:47 AM   #6
moebius3
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: el paso
Posts: 167
Default

thanks for the posts i was planning on using a bus shifter as well---ang
__________________
63 ghia
70 ghia
82 econoline(old faithful)
02 golf
one car garaged rowhome---you do the math :)
moebius3 is offline  
Old March 8th, 2004, 09:53 AM   #7
black_rat_bug
Forum Member
 
black_rat_bug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Southern Indiana
Posts: 1,272
Default

Thanks for the offer Logan...I have a buddy with about 30 parts cars that I can rob a shifter from. This shifter looks SOOO COOL in there. BTW Logan when is the next CCVW Meet??? As long as my schedule is clear I will make it to a meet woth the VW. I also need to find events that are close by. Wasn' there somewhere that listed VW shows on the 'net.
B_R_B
__________________
Randy Greene
Southern Indiana

Member Since Day Two, 2002!
black_rat_bug is offline  
Old March 8th, 2004, 10:55 AM   #8
Philthyphil
Forum Member
 
Philthyphil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Springdale Arkansas
Posts: 230
Default

when i made my shifter i just used the stock one cut it down and then welded a extension using round stock the same OD........added a short shift kit.......and now my shifter is about in the middle of my windshield...... :rolleyes:
Philthyphil is offline  
Old March 8th, 2004, 11:17 AM   #9
fastmc25
Forum Member
 
fastmc25's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Bossier City , Louisiana
Posts: 786
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by goober@Mar 8 2004, 11:55 AM
when i made my shifter i just used the stock one cut it down and then welded a extension using round stock the same OD........added a short shift kit.......and now my shifter is about in the middle of my windshield...... :rolleyes:
Did one that tall once........ Actually broke the windshield shifting to 3rd in a race one night. I was holding it about halfway down the shifter, threw that puppy to 3rd and spiderwebs for days! [img]style_emoticons/<#EMO_DIR#>/funny.gif[/img] [img]style_emoticons/<#EMO_DIR#>/stoned.gif[/img]
__________________
Peace,

Paul


1973 Adventurewagen (2.8l chevy power)
1970 Formula Vee Bug ( 2276cc)
1961 Deluxe Beetle
fastmc25 is offline  
Old March 8th, 2004, 11:22 AM   #10
vwfanatic
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: enfield ct
Posts: 11,865
Member Photo Albums
Default

i tried the weld top of one to bottom of other, but all i succeeded in doing is having the shifter break off in my hand while driving down my street. [img]style_emoticons/<#EMO_DIR#>/blink.gif[/img]
vwfanatic is offline  
Old March 8th, 2004, 11:25 AM   #11
Philthyphil
Forum Member
 
Philthyphil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Springdale Arkansas
Posts: 230
Default

when i welded mine together i made a "dowel pin" out out of solid round stock that would fit inside the two..........
Philthyphil is offline  
Old March 8th, 2004, 11:40 AM   #12
1slo3
Forum Member
 
1slo3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Where it all began...
Posts: 6,285
Member Photo Albums
Default

vwfanatic... drill out the shafts and pin it, then weld
__________________
64 No'back Speedster
65 Sunroof Notchback
Little Giant Killer III
1slo3 is offline  
Old March 8th, 2004, 11:52 AM   #13
vwfanatic
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: enfield ct
Posts: 11,865
Member Photo Albums
Default

that would seem to make sence [img]style_emoticons/<#EMO_DIR#>/huh.gif[/img]
vwfanatic is offline  
Old March 8th, 2004, 01:13 PM   #14
Philthyphil
Forum Member
 
Philthyphil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Springdale Arkansas
Posts: 230
Default

[img]style_emoticons/<#EMO_DIR#>/funny.gif[/img] vwfanatic YOU so crazy......... [img]style_emoticons/<#EMO_DIR#>/thumbsup.gif[/img]
Philthyphil is offline  
Old March 8th, 2004, 06:59 PM   #15
Jon
Forum Member
 
Jon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: North Florida, Jax to be specific
Posts: 6,296
Default

I pulled my shift rod out and cut the notch in it.

Hey, Type3rod. Like the Avatar. [img]style_emoticons/<#EMO_DIR#>/thumbsup.gif[/img]
Jon is offline  
Old March 8th, 2004, 08:30 PM   #16
busguy71
Forum Member
 
busguy71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Manchester, CT
Posts: 1,471
Default

I put a bus shifter into an autostick SB, which had the shift rod for the autostick going into a 4-speed. I dont know if everything was supposed to be compatible but I ended up cutting a 1 inch notch into rear side of the mount plate on the frame just so the shifter could get 2nd gear. wicked sloppy, I wont even say it WORKS but it does get every gear, just takes some fishing around
__________________
Everyone sucks but me

X- GT40 builder

This weeks job: pharmacudical courier
busguy71 is offline  
Old March 8th, 2004, 09:18 PM   #17
butcher will
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: NORCAL-Sacramento
Posts: 96
Default

Grind the pin off and grind the bottom part of the ball flat to look like the bug shifter and install. Mine works great-no welding needed!
You might need to bend it slightly towards you for comfort!
I also put one of those cheap short shift kit on as well to tighten up the pattern.
Good Luck!
butcher will is offline  
Old March 8th, 2004, 11:33 PM   #18
lilbill
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,283
Default

if you remove or disable the pin the stick has to remain straight. if it has a curve or bend in it it will try to rotate. the pin is to keep it pointed in one direction. my square already had a slot in the rod so i was able to put an "s" bend in my bus shifter to clear the dash.
lilbill is offline  
Old March 9th, 2004, 03:11 AM   #19
vwfanatic
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: enfield ct
Posts: 11,865
Member Photo Albums
Default

i agree with bill, tried the shifter without the pin one time and succeded in trying to shift, only to have the complete shifter rotate and smash my knuckles on the windshield.....DOH. but grinding a slot in the cup makes sence, if it wont weaken it to the point of cracking when shifting.
vwfanatic is offline  
Old March 9th, 2004, 02:24 PM   #20
Jon
Forum Member
 
Jon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: North Florida, Jax to be specific
Posts: 6,296
Default

Took me about 15 minutes to get the shift rod out of the car. Took me about 3 minutes to grind the slot in it.
Just accept that you need to do it.
Jon is offline  
Old March 9th, 2004, 04:02 PM   #21
lilbill
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,283
Default

yeah, plus taking out the shift rod will give you an opportunity to replace your old worn out shift rod bushing [img]style_emoticons/<#EMO_DIR#>/thumbsup.gif[/img]
lilbill is offline  
Old March 10th, 2004, 08:14 AM   #22
black_rat_bug
Forum Member
 
black_rat_bug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Southern Indiana
Posts: 1,272
Default

I am going to go with Jon and Lilbill's idea. The shift rod bushing probably could use a freshening up anyway. Just out of curiosity, grinding the slot in would not preclude me ever using my other (Hurst) shifter would it? I cannot see how it would but I figure I should ask. Thanks guys!!
__________________
Randy Greene
Southern Indiana

Member Since Day Two, 2002!
black_rat_bug is offline  
Old March 10th, 2004, 03:28 PM   #23
lilbill
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,283
Default

won't hurt a thing. if you can find an early shift rod with the slot already in it just swap them out.
lilbill is offline  
Old October 12th, 2004, 03:54 AM   #24
trevorbrady
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Portlaoise, Ireland
Posts: 73
Default

just to add to this topic...

I had an Empi trigger shifter in my '73 bug. It was about 12" long. I got an Empi trigger shifter for a bay bus and it fits right in there without modification. I did have to use longer bolts and pack up the base of the shifter with washers because the length of shaft below the shifter baseplate is about an inch more than on the bug version. It gets all the gears, and is about 30" long!! My hand is up level with the top of the dash!!

took all of about 15 minutes, no notches, no pins, no cutting, no welding. Simple. The throw isn't too wild either, since it's kind of a short throw shifter anyway. No problems with keeping it straight either, the shifter is designed not to rotate...

gotta get a cool knob for it now and maybe strip off the chrome...
trevorbrady is offline  
Old October 12th, 2004, 09:17 AM   #25
spiggy
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 38
Default

anybody tried fitting a scat bus shifter in a bug???
looks similar at the base to the empi/hurst style,but it does'nt
look as raked back,would it clear the dash or am i gonna
be smashing my fingers up every time i hit third?? [img]style_emoticons/<#EMO_DIR#>/crybaby.gif[/img]
__________________
Knew you'd be pleased................................
spiggy is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 03:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
ALL text, images, graphics and content herein are Copyright 2002 - 2020 Three Pugs Design - Cut Weld Drive Forums