Cut-Weld-Drive Forums

Go Back   Cut-Weld-Drive Forums > The VolksRodders Forum > The Cutting Board

The Cutting Board Cut... Weld... DRIVE.


User Information
Your Avatar

Stuff to check out...

Cool stuff you NEED!

Forum Stats
Members: 17,487
Threads: 32,275
Posts: 545,403
Total Online: 468

Newest Member: jwold

Latest Threads
- by yimbo

 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old February 15th, 2014, 07:23 PM   #1
Jon
Forum Member
 
Jon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Behind you, Breathing heavy on your neck.
Posts: 6,293
Default Wiring question
Re:: Grounding on a Dune Buggy   

Ok so I am wiring my Buggy and I have to ground certain things that ordinarily be grounded on a steel car. No big deal, except when it comes to the Speedo.
The warning lights and fuel gauge ground out through the circuit at the senders or flasher... etc.
But the actual lights that light up the speedo I am not sure how that circuit works, it looks like I gotta ground it.

So my question is: Do I have to ground the Speedometer ? If I do will it throw anything else off ?

I figure I could ground it at one of the mounting bolts if I have to. This is the first time I have done a full wiring job so I am learning alot so far.
Jon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 15th, 2014, 09:25 PM   #2
johnny27030
Forum Member
 
johnny27030's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mount Airy North Carolina
Posts: 453
Member Photo Albums
Default Re: Wiring question

The best I can remember, the speedo has to be grounded out. So yea just running a wire to one of the mounting bolts should be fine.
johnny27030 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 16th, 2014, 04:11 AM   #3
bigguy
Forum Member
 
bigguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: upstate ny
Posts: 6,959
Default Re: Wiring question

Most run a ground strip bar and then run all grounds to it for lights and such.
__________________
Playing the hurry up and wait game of life.
bigguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 16th, 2014, 07:21 PM   #4
rostigbug
Forum Member
 
rostigbug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: tucson AZ
Posts: 2,337
Member Photo Albums
Default Re: Wiring question

big-guy is right. A ground buss bar is the best way to go!
__________________
heuristic paradigm
rostigbug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 17th, 2014, 02:57 PM   #5
Jon
Forum Member
 
Jon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Behind you, Breathing heavy on your neck.
Posts: 6,293
Default Re: Wiring question

I have only the Speedo , 2 Relays and a Flasher to ground under the dash so I am just gonna run ground wire running from those to the chassis.
All those components are with in a few inches of each other and then only like 2 feet max to ground.

Everything else will ground right at where they mount, so its easy enough.
Jon is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 03:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
ALL text, images, graphics and content herein are Copyright 2002 - 2013 Three Pugs Design - Cut Weld Drive Forums