Cut-Weld-Drive Forums

Go Back   Cut-Weld-Drive Forums > The VolksRodders Forum > The Cutting Board

The Cutting Board Cut... Weld... DRIVE.


User Information
Your Avatar

Stuff to check out...


Cool stuff you NEED!

Forum Stats
Members: 16,713
Threads: 31,707
Posts: 533,994
Total Online: 38

Newest Member: Scottiej

Latest Threads
- by FatDad
- by Bugula
- by DrHax

 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old December 29th, 2009, 03:45 PM   #1
VWman00
Forum Member
 
VWman00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Indianapolis, In
Posts: 136
Member Photo Albums
Default trunk latch

has anyone eliminitated the handle on the trunk lid and just ran the stock latch? If i do this i need to replace the cable end in the glove box. Is there a chance of the hood opening on the road since there will no longer be a secondary latch?
__________________
Stock vehicles are for books and museums


http://www.volksrods.com/forum/showthread.php?t=28623
VWman00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 29th, 2009, 05:29 PM   #2
Stray Catalyst
Forum Member
 
Stray Catalyst's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 589
Default Re: trunk latch

I have about 9000 miles on mine that way - no catastrophic failures yet. I'm thinking of putting the cable and lever back, though, just to keep my tools safe.

Stray
Stray Catalyst is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 31st, 2009, 01:27 AM   #3
Kraut Taco
Forum Member
 
Kraut Taco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Brazil, Indiana.
Posts: 182
Default Re: trunk latch

Used one like that on my bug, just make sure you have another cable attached to the latch and hidden in an area you can get to ( under the front ) that way if your dash cable breaks you can still get it open. You could also use an electric silenoid to open it.
Kraut Taco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 31st, 2009, 12:37 PM   #4
nhtriker
Forum Member
 
nhtriker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: West of Concord
Posts: 179
Default Re: trunk latch

"have another cable attached to the latch and hidden in an area you can get to " Use a bicycle shifter and cable set up.
nhtriker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 31st, 2009, 02:37 PM   #5
Cutman
Forum Member
 
Cutman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: west end of the hood in Pasco, WA
Posts: 917
Default Re: trunk latch

This is my set up...

__________________
... don't be a lurker talking about what you are "gonna do" to your car.
Cutman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 31st, 2009, 06:20 PM   #6
dt113
Forum Member
 
dt113's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: W Monroe,La. 71291
Posts: 2,013
Member Photo Albums
Default Re: trunk latch

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cutman View Post
This is my set up...


GREAT idea! I used your idea.
dt113 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 10th, 2012, 10:22 AM   #7
rutgersfanatic18
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: trunk latch

love the idea. Going to try something similar on mine!
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 01:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
ALL text, images, graphics and content herein are Copyright 2002 - 2013 Three Pugs Design - Cut Weld Drive Forums