Cut-Weld-Drive Forums

Go Back   Cut-Weld-Drive Forums > The VolksRodders Forum > The Cutting Board

The Cutting Board Cut... Weld... DRIVE.


User Information
Your Avatar

Stuff to check out...


Cool stuff you NEED!

Forum Stats
Members: 16,666
Threads: 31,652
Posts: 532,914
Total Online: 53

Newest Member: PIPER63

Latest Threads
- by DrHax

 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old July 1st, 2006, 07:57 AM   #201
carcentric
Grateful Member #484
 
carcentric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Seattle area, USA
Posts: 3,012
Default

Thanks, Zee. I downloaded Core FTP LE on your recommendation, and it has the same problem making a connection as Namo did.

I finally gave up on emails to/from my host's tech support and called them on the phone. They now say they're doing some upgrades and nobody on that server can get in until they're done (hopefully later today). It woulda been nice for them to warn us . . . .

Have a nice 4th!
__________________
M D "Doc" Nugent
"Slow the fuck down...you're making us slackers look even worse." - Budreaux
carcentric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 1st, 2006, 02:36 PM   #202
Zee
Forum Member
 
Zee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Hillsboro, OR
Posts: 84
Default Re: O/T computer help desk thread

Sure would have been nice if they'd let their customers know when they're going to break stuff! Happy 4th to you as well!
Zee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 1st, 2006, 03:07 PM   #203
Nick
Forum Member
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Surrey, BC (Canada)
Posts: 7,648
Default Re: Transfering programs ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Unkl Ian
We have Corel 10 on the PC,but install the disk has been misplaced.
Is there an easy way for a Techno-Peasant like me to move it,
from one machine to the other ?
You'll need a specific program to move all the files over automatically from 1 PC to another, usally by connecting both PCs togetehr by the both USB ports ob both PCs. But from past experience these programs are hit or miss. It won't work just by moving the folder where the program is installed since there's a few other folders where some files and registry info are stored that won't run w/o them. I'd personally would rather find another Corel install CD, legal or... I compeltely forgot the name of that program though. You can get it (or used to) at Best Buy. But as siad on past expereince especially on major programs like Office it usually doesn't work well.

Quick search, it's called Aloha Bob, PC Relocator. It comes with the USB cable:
http://www.alohabob.com/help/faqs/pc_relocator.asp
__________________

Nick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 1st, 2006, 03:23 PM   #204
Unkl Ian
Trouble Maker and Bad Influence
 
Unkl Ian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: A distant galaxy;far,far,away.
Posts: 16,118
Default Re: O/T computer help desk thread

I've got a copy of Corel 2.0,with all the documentation and training video etc.But it doesn't seem to have Photo Paint;which is what I've been using.
__________________

UnkLian.net

FlyingEyeballs.net


Unkl Ian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 8th, 2006, 07:48 PM   #205
Unkl Ian
Trouble Maker and Bad Influence
 
Unkl Ian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: A distant galaxy;far,far,away.
Posts: 16,118
Default Re: O/T computer help desk thread

Just got a USB drive:
http://www.kasercorp.com/index.asp?P...PROD&ProdID=36
512mb,on sale.
So now I can move my big pictures,and safely store my resume.

The drive came with a little tiny switch on the side.
Any idea what it's for ?

No instructions,no info on the manufacturers site.

Thanks.
__________________

UnkLian.net

FlyingEyeballs.net


Unkl Ian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 8th, 2006, 07:54 PM   #206
Nick
Forum Member
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Surrey, BC (Canada)
Posts: 7,648
Default Re: O/T computer help desk thread

Never seen a USB pen-drive with a switch. No idea what it's for.

also you can get a 1gb for less then that price.
http://meritline.stores.yahoo.net/1gbpendrives.html

or even a 4gb by that. But for normal office use you very rarely need anything more then 512mb anyways.
http://meritline.stores.yahoo.net/4g...pen-drive.html

that site you linked has sooooo many typos on a few of their product description. I wonder how their web designer got away with murder. Example, look at their USB harddrives, it's listed as 80mb instead of 80gb. Anyways just an observation...
http://www.kasercorp.com/index.asp?P...ATS&Category=3
__________________

Nick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 8th, 2006, 08:03 PM   #207
Unkl Ian
Trouble Maker and Bad Influence
 
Unkl Ian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: A distant galaxy;far,far,away.
Posts: 16,118
Default Re: O/T computer help desk thread

512mb was around $25 Cdn,on sale,at the local Best Buy.

The Dickheads down the street,at Futile Shop,
had 128mb on a few weeks ago for $10 after rebate.
Good luck getting one,their service SUCKS.

The switch is REAL small,some people would never notice it.

I've seen where 512 drives can be set up as 2 seperate 256 drives,
maybe it's something like that ? Or some optional muffler bearing switch.
__________________

UnkLian.net

FlyingEyeballs.net


Unkl Ian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 8th, 2006, 08:11 PM   #208
clowncar
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 825
Default Re: O/T computer help desk thread

if i had to guess i'd say it's a lock to make the files write-only so you don't accidentally mess up a file while moving it.
clowncar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 10th, 2006, 03:25 PM   #209
bigguy
Forum Member
 
bigguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: upstate ny
Posts: 6,829
Default Re: O/T computer help desk thread

everytime i go into myspace.com i get a click to run active x.i click on it and nothing happens.i downloaded the new version of java script and still nothing.i want to be able to see videos and slide shows again and cant figure out what to do next.any suggestions.
__________________
Playing the hurry up and wait game of life.
bigguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 10th, 2006, 03:58 PM   #210
Unkl Ian
Trouble Maker and Bad Influence
 
Unkl Ian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: A distant galaxy;far,far,away.
Posts: 16,118
Default Re: O/T computer help desk thread

I was trying to download Java,from Download.com,
and needed some ActiveXblablabla.......
And that was as far as I got.
__________________

UnkLian.net

FlyingEyeballs.net


Unkl Ian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 27th, 2006, 10:01 AM   #211
Unkl Ian
Trouble Maker and Bad Influence
 
Unkl Ian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: A distant galaxy;far,far,away.
Posts: 16,118
Default Re: O/T computer help desk thread

Got Opera,works great.Used it to get the latest Java Runtime Environment.No problems.
----------
Got a message from my friend Ralph,having monitor problems
with his old Mac:
>"I have noticed lately that the monitor on the Mac has made
> noises as it booted up. It always got there, so I didn't worry
> about it. It was sort of a wrinkled cellophane paper type noise.
> Last night we were checking photos from the camera's memory sticks
> and the monitor would not light up. I checked the two wires and
> everything was attached. I tried turning it off and on, but to no
> avail. I had to turn off the electricity to turn off the computer.
>
> This morning, the same thing. I turned it off and on again and
> then it lit up. As long as this is working, I am writing this on
> the Mac. I had turned on the PC and was going to write you on it. I
> thought "just one more try" and it worked. How long is in question.
> We did have a bad storm earlier in the day, but not when I tried
> this. The TV sets worked okay last evening.
>
> Any ideas? Do monitors wear out like TVs and is it cheaper to
> just get a new one. Maybe it is pissed off knowing there is a PC in
> the house!

Any ideas ? Are monitors interchangable between Macs and PCs ?

Thanks.
Ian
__________________

UnkLian.net

FlyingEyeballs.net


Unkl Ian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 27th, 2006, 10:13 AM   #212
Hotrodpez
Forum Member
 
Hotrodpez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Mission Viejo, Orange County, Kalifornia, USA, Earth, Sol System, Milky Way.
Posts: 1,398
Default Re: O/T computer help desk thread

active X controls are in the security section of your computer. you have to enable them. it could be anti-spyware software, or just windows security, i dont kno, but somewhere theres a box to click to enable axtive X plugins
__________________
- Luke
__________________________________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by bugdust
If you can't measure your own floor then this project may be too much for you...just my opinion.
People who say im hard to shop for must not know where to buy beer...

Common parking lot conversation...

Its a volksrod...
Yes, it runs...
Yeah I drive it...
No, I'm not crazy.

Here's to living single, seeing double, and sleeping triple!

Myspace: http://www.myspace.com/lukepezanoski
Hotrodpez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 27th, 2006, 10:40 AM   #213
bigguy
Forum Member
 
bigguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: upstate ny
Posts: 6,829
Default Re: O/T computer help desk thread

i figured mine out.had to get rid of some of the media players in the comp.it works for me now.
__________________
Playing the hurry up and wait game of life.
bigguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 27th, 2006, 12:23 PM   #214
Nick
Forum Member
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Surrey, BC (Canada)
Posts: 7,648
Default Re: O/T computer help desk thread

That cinkle sound on monitors is usually the 1st sign that it's about to go out. My old monitor made that sound when turned on for a minutoe or two for about a few months before it went completely out. Not worth fixing the big CRT monitors, just buy a new or used one. I'm not too cure if they're interchangeble with MACs/PCs. Newest MACs are interchangeable, but not too familiar with the older ones.
__________________

Nick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 27th, 2006, 02:54 PM   #215
Zee
Forum Member
 
Zee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Hillsboro, OR
Posts: 84
Default Re: O/T computer help desk thread

Pretty much any mac made after around 1998 won't have a problem with a regular monitor. I had an older Mac clone in 1996 and it had a regular VGA port. Any PowerMac or G3/G4 tower should also have the VGA port (15 pin) on it.
Zee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 27th, 2006, 05:02 PM   #216
Unkl Ian
Trouble Maker and Bad Influence
 
Unkl Ian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: A distant galaxy;far,far,away.
Posts: 16,118
Default Re: O/T computer help desk thread

It might be older than that,but I'll check.
I think the operating system is 9.2 or something if that's a clue.
__________________

UnkLian.net

FlyingEyeballs.net


Unkl Ian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 27th, 2006, 06:32 PM   #217
Zee
Forum Member
 
Zee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Hillsboro, OR
Posts: 84
Default Re: O/T computer help desk thread

If the monitor has a connector like this:

You'll be good to go with any PC monitor.

Really old macs use a port the same type as for joysticks on a PC, it' look like this on the mac end - the 15-pin wide connector.

Zee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 27th, 2006, 06:44 PM   #218
Unkl Ian
Trouble Maker and Bad Influence
 
Unkl Ian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: A distant galaxy;far,far,away.
Posts: 16,118
Default Re: O/T computer help desk thread

So the PC,and newer Mac,plug uses 3 rows of pins,
and the older Mac has 2 longer rows ?
__________________

UnkLian.net

FlyingEyeballs.net


Unkl Ian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 28th, 2006, 04:11 AM   #219
Zee
Forum Member
 
Zee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Hillsboro, OR
Posts: 84
Default Re: O/T computer help desk thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Unkl Ian
So the PC,and newer Mac,plug uses 3 rows of pins,
and the older Mac has 2 longer rows ?
You got it, and some older macs had adapters to go from the wide 15 to the other type of connector, in which case a regular monitor woud still work.
Zee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 28th, 2006, 08:50 AM   #220
Unkl Ian
Trouble Maker and Bad Influence
 
Unkl Ian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: A distant galaxy;far,far,away.
Posts: 16,118
Default Re: O/T computer help desk thread

Thanks.I'll forward this to Ralph.
__________________

UnkLian.net

FlyingEyeballs.net


Unkl Ian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 29th, 2006, 08:00 AM   #221
purplemyth
moody witch
 
purplemyth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: central ga.
Posts: 12,008
Member Photo Albums
Default Re: O/T computer help desk thread

I'm probably in the wrong place(thread) for this question. I'm just doing some thinking. Is there anywhere, I can get a simple free website? To display pics and a lil typing with a contact info? I did a search and am leary of some of the sites I found, hidden charges and such.
Would I be better off to set up another blog?

Thanks guys~
__________________
1,2,.............. .
Like it, Click it, support it.
Quote:
Originally Posted by fishguts
My attraction to volksrods is that these are bottom-feeders where things are still real ... people scraping together parts, doing their own work and often on a tight budget. Real hot rodding is still alive here.
purplemyth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 29th, 2006, 08:07 AM   #222
Zee
Forum Member
 
Zee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Hillsboro, OR
Posts: 84
Default Re: O/T computer help desk thread

You can always use Geocities, they have ads pop up but otherwise for a low volume site it's free (meaning if you don't have tons of stuff up for download and generate lots of traffic). I use it for a personal site, if you have a yahoo email account you can get a geocities basic page for free.
http://www.geocities.com
They have a basic page editor or if you're comfortable with HTML you can just do your page pretty quick, I think they allow about 15mb of storage or so.
Zee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 29th, 2006, 10:14 AM   #223
purplemyth
moody witch
 
purplemyth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: central ga.
Posts: 12,008
Member Photo Albums
Default Re: O/T computer help desk thread

I just spent 2hrs in there, I have an address, but couldn't figure out how to get the pagebuilder to display my pic . It loads my pic , has it in the folder, but I can't see where it is on the page....
I'll try again when I have a day to do nothing. I messed with my blog's code last month and got it set different than the template was. But I guess something simple tools are baffling to me~
Was just wanting to display the cars we've built and my airbrushing so the locals folks would have a place to look on their own....
thanks though, will try later~
__________________
1,2,.............. .
Like it, Click it, support it.
Quote:
Originally Posted by fishguts
My attraction to volksrods is that these are bottom-feeders where things are still real ... people scraping together parts, doing their own work and often on a tight budget. Real hot rodding is still alive here.
purplemyth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 29th, 2006, 01:54 PM   #224
Unkl Ian
Trouble Maker and Bad Influence
 
Unkl Ian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: A distant galaxy;far,far,away.
Posts: 16,118
Default Re: O/T computer help desk thread

Zee:Thanks for the pics,he checked and it looks like the PC style plug,
so that's cool.

He just got a new PC,but doesn't really have the space for two complete systems.The plan is to set up the Mac and PC together so they share one mouse,monitor,and keyboard.Still need to sort out some Gremlins on the PC before he will be comfortable on it,but that is just a matter of time.

Thanks again.
__________________

UnkLian.net

FlyingEyeballs.net


Unkl Ian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 2nd, 2006, 08:26 AM   #225
tequilla
Forum Member
 
tequilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Layin' low........ sippin' slow
Posts: 2,233
Default Re: O/T computer help desk thread

I'm having computer trouble at work. I have about a 4 or 5 year old e-machine witha 1.2 celeron processor with XP home edition. This thing has been stable for years but now.......... It downloaded some windows updates, after the install and the power down thing the computer wouldn't boot up. Even going into safe-mode it was unstable as hell and the restore to an eariler date didn't help. So I tossed in the system restore disk and it put the computer back to day 1 as if it was a new computer. Sure enough the same damn thing happened after allowing windows to update with bug fixes and patches. I've re-done the computer 4 times now and the same thing keeps hapening. The weird part is......... it doesn't keep hapening with the same up-date. It's happened on a few different ones. Something seems to be messing with my boot up after I update. Some up-dates go in fine but then one will decide to crash it but it's never the same up-date. WTF? Is this thing possesed? On the system restore it does a format and wipes everything out so it's always a new and fresh install. Any insight on what the hell is going on? I'm stable now but with windows XP as installed with no up-dates or patches.
__________________
VW INC.

'67 Baja

'63 T-Bird

Devils Plaything

Share your cheese....... here kitty, kitty.......
tequilla is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
computer, computer help, computer help desk, pos computer, qwerty

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 12:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
ALL text, images, graphics and content herein are Copyright 2002 - 2013 Three Pugs Design - Cut Weld Drive Forums